1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do you think this is a CableCard or Roamio issue?

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by dana278, Sep 3, 2013.

1. dana278

dana278 New Member

Aug 31, 2013
    To be honest, I'm new to digital cable, so I'm not completely familiar with how CableCards work. I've only had it for a few weeks, and I specifically signed up because of the Roamio.

I had a tech come out and give me a card for my old TiVo so I'd have it when I finally got my new Tivo in, that way I could just call and pair and wouldn't have to wait for a tech at that time. Anyways, the card didn't give me any problems in an old HD unit the whole time I had it in there.

So then I called to pair it with the Roamio this past Friday and everything was great for 24 hours, that's when I lost my channels for the first time. As with everything (computers, phone, etc) I tried restarting the TiVo first and they came back and everything was fine. Since Saturday afternoon I've lost them a total of five times, three times I had to restart, but twice the channels came back on their own after I received this message on my screen:

CableCard Error: A technical problem is preventing you from receiving all cable services at this time. Please call your cable operator and report error code 161-17.

I'm going to call and have a tech come out later this week, but should I prepare myself for this being a TiVo issue? I'd like to figure it out ASAP because I purchased it from Best Buy and their return policy is only 15 days. As I said before, I'm new to CableCards so I don't know if they "go bad" after being swapped out.

Thanks for any advice!

2. jodell

jodell TiVo geek

Jul 9, 2002
    Irvine, CA
    I suggest calling the number you called to have the cable card paired and asking them to un-pair it and then re-pair the Tivo and Cable Card.

Jeff

3. AdamNJ

AdamNJ Member

Aug 22, 2013
    Dunellen, NJ