1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Defrag TiVo?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by TivoIT, Sep 18, 2006.

1. TivoIT

TivoIT New Member

Sep 18, 2006
    Hi everyone:

Well, this is my first attempt at starting a thread, so bare with me!

Anyway, my question is…how many of you have seen the following article (Defrag Insures a Blockbuster Digital Media Experience) and what are your thoughts on it?

I ask because I read it recently and although it is in press release format, it really got me thinking. I mean, with the kids and all, our TiVo is a very important family tool. Because of the amount of shows we have saved on the thing, we worry constantly about our TiVo getting fried and our kids…going nuts!

I’ve already read many articles on backing up the TiVo and such, but this is the first article I’ve seen that has gotten this detailed regarding fragmentation.

We already have Diskeeper Defrag running on our Windows Media Center PC, but are unsure about the TiVo itself.

Can my TiVo become fragmented? And if so, how would I go about DEfragging it? :confused:

2. alansplace

alansplace ------ Alan ------

Apr 30, 2006
    Southern...
    no, the filesystems used by linux (the os used by tivo) do not need periodic defragging as do the filesystems used by windows. see this and especially read the short section titled 'defragmentation issues'.
    --
    Alan :D

3. theangelwing

theangelwing New Member

Sep 18, 2006
    So based on th elinux system it runs (as do Macs) no defragging is neccesary?

4. alansplace

alansplace ------ Alan ------

Apr 30, 2006
    Southern...
    correct, 'no defragging is neccesary'.
    --
    Alan :D

5. ccooperev

ccooperev TIVOSMITTEN

Apr 24, 2001
    Chicago, IL USA
    Mac's run UNIX (which is related to Linux) and does not require defragging.

6. classicsat

classicsat Astute User

Feb 18, 2004
    Ontario Canada.