1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cloning tivo hd with laptop, do i need 2 usb sata adapters?

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by Electropura21, Jul 11, 2013.

1. Electropura21

Electropura21 New Member

Jul 11, 2013
    i know there are many MANY places that discuss how to use winMFS to clone the tivo hd harddrive, and i've watched 2 youtube videos that pretty much walk you through it. the thing is, all the descriptions i've seen use a desktop, which i don't have.

i'm not a techie (more of a dangerous novice), but from what i can tell you need 2 sata adapters and both drives plugged in simultaneously to do a full clone (and keep the programs) using mfscopy.

the harddrive i'm planning on buying is this one from amazon.com, which people confirm worked for their tivo hd.
    WD AV-GP 1 TB AV Video Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, SATA III, 64 MB Cache - WD10EURX

my problem/questions:
    1) am i correct in assuming i need 2 adapters?
    2) do i need the "double usb" adapters for extra power, or would a "single usb" adapter work?
    3) my lenovo has 3 usb's on 1 side, and 1 usb on the other. if i need 2 "double usb" adapters, i'm gonna have a problem. could i get away with the "double usb" for the 1TB drive (runs 7200rpm), and a "single usb" for the original tivo hd drive?
    4) all things being equal, i'd rather not spend a ton of money on these adapters (although they're nice to have for emergencies, i'm not sure when i'd use one again-- let alone 2). can i get away with the cheap ones under $8 or do i really need to fork out $20+ times two?

those are my big questions. given the fount of knowledge out here, i'm open to adapter recommendations (or any pitfalls i'm missing) too! :)

thanks!

2. unitron

unitron Active Member

Apr 28, 2006
    semi-coastal NC