1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Camcorder to TiVo for Swim Analysis

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by sport trainer, Dec 31, 2012.

1. sport trainer

sport trainer New Member

Dec 31, 2012
    I'm a swimming coach and want to hook my video camera into my TiVo to record swimmers live but have an automatic 30 second loop playback so they can review their technique.

Can anyone help me out with how to get the TiVo to do this and what cables I need?

2. Jan 1, 2013 #2 of 11
    ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area
    You cannot even hook up a camera with today's Tivo models (Series 3, Premiere). You would have to go back to the Series 1 or 2, hook up the yellow/white/red and setup for satellite with input activity.

3. Jan 1, 2013 #3 of 11
    sport trainer

sport trainer New Member

Dec 31, 2012
    Is there a way to do it on a series 3 with a RCA adapter and coax cable into the input?

4. Jan 1, 2013 #4 of 11
    Worf

Worf Active Member

Sep 15, 2000
    Nope - From series 3 onwards, they do not have any input other than antenna or cable.

There are plenty of alternatives though.

5. Jan 1, 2013 #5 of 11
    Arcady

Arcady Stargate Fan

Oct 14, 2004
    Philadelphia...
    If your camcorder has an RF output (like a VHS or 8mm or Hi8 used to have), you could run that into the antenna input on the TiVo and tune to channel 3 or 4. If you don't have RF out (most modern cameras do not) then you could plug the RCA outputs into an old VCR (setting it to line in/AV in), then run the RF output from the VCR into the TiVo's antenna input and tune to channel 3 or 4. You could also pick up an RF modulator (they sell them at Wal-Mart, Best Buy, etc.) and connect the AV out of the camera to that, then run the coax to the TiVo and tune to channel 3 or 4.

There is always a way to make video devices talk, but it isn't always easy.