1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Automatic Setting of Thumbs Up When Recording?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by HopDevil, Apr 20, 2012.

1. HopDevil

HopDevil New Member

Apr 20, 2012
    I'm new to TiVo and the whole idea of suggestions, but am seeing something I would prefer to disable if possible ...
    Whenever I set a manual recording (using the guide), TiVo will automatically give the newly recorded program a thumbs up - this doesn't make a lot of sense to me. Aren't suggestions based on what I like and not what I record? Or is the assumption that I only record the things I like ;) which isn't always true.
    Can I turn off this specific "auto-tagging"?

2. jjd_87

jjd_87 Member

Jan 31, 2011
    WV
    If you set up recordings from the iPhone/iPad app it doesn't do this. But yeah its annoying. Keep your gf/wife away from that remote or your suggestions will be full of the View and Real Housewives.

3. steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    Regarding suggestions, that is the way it is set up. Suggestions are based on what you specifically record. It's like a default setting that you are only supposed to record stuff you actually like.

It's easy enough to remove that automatic thumbs up by going to the info page of the recorded show (the page you enter when you select a show from the Now Playing/My Shows menu) and hitting the thumbs down button.

You can also go in and review/change all your thumb ratings by going to the Tivo Suggestions menu and then hitting 'Enter' on the remote.

4. scandia101

scandia101 Just the facts ma'am

Oct 20, 2007
    MN, greater...
    You can also go in and review/change all some of your thumb ratings...
    Only programs that are in the current guide data will be shown in Suggestions.

5. steve614

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX