1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antenna only works when checking Antenna Signal Strength

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by dougitect, Jun 14, 2014.

1. dougitect

dougitect New Member

Jul 5, 2012
    I am new to TiVo. I'm trying to get it to work with OTA channels.

I bought a used Premiere (Series 4) and an indoor style antenna (and a new TV). The antenna is a Mohu. I've tried it with and without the amplifier on and it seems to work best for me (in an urban area) without it.

When I hook up the antenna directly to the TV I get the big four OTA channels fine. When I hook up the antenna to the TiVo, nothing. Just the message "Searching for a signal on this channel. (V52) Press Select for help."

The strange thing to me is: if I then go into the Settings & Messages>Channels...Antenna Signal Strength I can get the big four channels pretty well. If I can watch them in this mode, why don't they come in when watching normally?

Thank you for any tips!
    Doug

2. ThAbtO

ThAbtO TiVoholic by the bay

Apr 6, 2000
    SF Bay Area
    Have you gone through Guided Setup with the antenna connected in the Antenna Coax input? I also assume this is a 2 tuner Premiere because that is the only Premiere models which accepts Antenna.

3. dougitect

dougitect New Member

Jul 5, 2012
    Yes, I went through the guided setup a few times, trying to get better results. And yes, it has the ability to have both a cable provider and an antenna connected at the same time.

Any ideas on what I should try next? Thank you.

4. unitron

unitron Active Member

Apr 28, 2006
    semi-coastal NC
    Are you entering the channel number directly from the remote's number pad or using the channel up, channel down button?

Do you enter it

1 2 ->| 1

(with

->|

being the little button slightly north of the "3" button)

in order to get channel 12.1 or 12-1?

5. poppagene

poppagene User

Dec 29, 2001