1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3.0 Ethernet HowTos

Discussion in 'TiVo Underground' started by zaknafein, Jun 19, 2002.

1. zaknafein

zaknafein Shorthanded

Jul 17, 2001
    Kansas City, MO
  2. Sparkyjoe

Sparkyjoe New Member

Aug 12, 2002
    Long Island
    I am kind of new to Tivo but am experienced with PC's/networks. I have the new Tivo series II with USB ports. From what I've been reading, it seems that the 3Com USB nic is one of the best ways to go for the Tivo series II. At home I have a network setup with a Windows 2000 Advanced Server domain. Once I have the NIC up and running in the Tivo, is there any way that I can do a full back up of the Tivo to my server on my network? I want to backup my Tivo, but since it is brand new, I dont want to crack open the case and void the warranty. I figure there must be a way of getting it on the network, and then just copying the contents of the drive up onto my server. Maybe I'm crazy, but it would great if someone knows how to do this. Any other help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

-Joe

3. Rooth

Rooth New Member

Aug 18, 2002
    I have a TiVo Series 1 unit (no USB) running 3.0.something of the TiVo software. I have a second hard drive in it (post-consumer hack).